Sunday, April 27, 2008

I'm a Phone Murderer

I’m so degraditated!! I have inadvertently killed my cell phone by giving it an accidental 7-hour OVERNIGHT SOAK . This would not be TOO humiliating IF it was the first time such a thing had happened. But I have a history with cell phones and liquid-related accidents. This is not the 2nd time or 3rd time I’ve drowned a cell phone to death. It’s the 4th time.


The last thing I did on Friday night before falling asleep was turn OFF my cell phone alarm (as is my custom on Friday nights, as Friday is the ONLY night of the week where a wake-up call is not required the next morning). Instead of carefully setting the phone on the edge of my nightstand like usual, I dropped it into what I thought was the little box sitting on top of my nightstand. On Saturday morning when I woke up, I reached over to get my phone out of the box to see what time it was. To my horror, I saw my phone sitting in my water cup (which was only 1/3 full, but full enough!). I did a double-take to make sure I was really seeing what I was looking at. I could not BELIEVE what I had done. I tried to revive it but I’m afraid it’s a goner.


About 2 years ago, I was pulling clothes out of the washing machine one day and found my cell phone at the bottom of the wash basin, obviously had been left in pant pocket. It was dead as a doornail and could not be repaired. Later that year, I was driving around looking at Christmas lights with the kids and set my phone in the cupholder of my car, but did not know it was sitting in a puddle of hot cocoa which had leaked from a Styrofoam cup in same said cupholder just a little while before. Months later, my phone dropped out of my school bag (or out of my car) into the parking lot of my school, where it was found by a fellow teacher, who gave it to me the next morning after it had drizzled rain most of the night. That one actually worked for a few days, but was in critical condition and died a few days after.


So I have concluded that I must not be responsible enough to own a regular phone!?!? I either need to have NO phone or get a special waterproof phone. What do you think? Have I exceeded the number of reasonable phone replacements in a 2-year period? (Of course, I haven't bought nice new phones when these things happen; I buy a Cheapie one for $30 and put my SIM card in it. We don't have a home phone, but the money we think we're saving by not having a land line is actually going to the purchase of these "cheapie" replacement phones!! AAAHHHH!)


If my Dad were here, he’d say “No cell phone for a year”!! Right, Kenj? Mark hasn’t said much about the incident this weekend, except that he’s gonna buy me a water bottle WITH A LID to put next to the bed for my bouts of nighttime thirst.

No comments: